Who needs Wheaties?!

I love breakfast, I love to eat it, I love to cook it and I looooooveeee to experiment with it!! originally I was going to make an Oven Puffed French Toast, however, my baby brain forgot to do part of the work last night so this morning it was a change of plans!!

My helper/Mess maker!

My helper/Mess maker!

 

So away to google I went to find a recipe that I could adapt and make for my family!  I found a recipe from Our Best Bites and adapted it a tiny tiny bit (I never change recipes the first time I make it!)  Here is the recipe!

All the Supplies!

Puffed French Toast:

2 Eggs

2 1/2 T Sugar

1/2 t Salt

1/2 t Vanilla

2 C. Half and Half

1 C. Flour

2 1/2 t powder

12 Slices Bread

The batter, pre-whisk!

The batter, pre-whisk!

The next thing I did was prep my cooking space.  I needed 3 pans, 1 for french toast, 1 for a strawberry sauce and 1 for Bacon.  My husband will NOT eat a sweet breakfast unless he has bacon or sausage.  The fact that he will even deviate from his eggs for breakfast is a huge accomplishment!!!

The pans!

The pans!

Now for the fun!!  I put strawberries and some orange juice on the stove, placed it on medium heat covered and let simmer until everything was complete. Next I heated up 1/4 c vegetable oil on medium heat…you do NOT want this to be too hot otherwise the french toast will burn.  And I started the bacon!  As the oil was heating I took all the ingredients and whisked them together.  Side note– after I was finished whisking it definitely looked little lumpy and I was worried, however after cooked you could not tell at all.  So if your batter is lumpy no fears, it will still be great!!  I dipped each piece of french bread into the batter and made sure it was coated pretty well and placed into the pan.  I cooked them for around 3-4 minutes on each side.  Here is a look at cooking in the middle of the process:

Half way done!

Half way done!

After that time I flipped them and when finished I placed them on a paper towel and then dipped into Cinnamon and Sugar and placed into a warm oven while I cooked the other pieces.  The entire process took around 15 minutes and tasted so so so good.  It was definitely worth the mess and clean up.  I added a strawberry sauce and whip cream to the process and did not need any type of syrup.  Feel free to change what you would like! Thank you for taking this amazing food journey with me! Can’t wait to explore a new recipe next week! Enjoy and eat up!!!

Yummy !

Yummy !

Leave a Reply

