Trying to live by grace….

Some days I just feel like I lack the grace to accomplish any task. It is on these days I need to give grace the most that I find myself forgetting it. It is the days when the boys won’t stop bickering. When we have had 200-time outs, forced playing in separate rooms, all electronics taken away and still, still they can’t be nice to each other. I will finally get one settled and happy for the other to run by and get in their face….oh how I need grace at that moment because the anger is right there.

grace3I love because he first loved me. It is by grace alone you are saved. I was lost but now I am found. His grace is sufficient. (These are the constant reminders that I say daily.)

Amazing grace how sweet the sound that saved a wretch like, oh I once was lost but now am found, was blind but now I see. Oh I can see it now, I can see the love in your eyes. Laying yourself down. Raising up the broken to life.

I want to teach my children grace. Love. Patience. Kindness. Understanding. Mercy. But it all starts with me. I can tell them anything I want, but actions speak so much louder. So I get on my knees and look them in the eyes and sometimes I have to say I’m sorry. I’m sorry mommy yelled. I’m sorry mommy wasn’t nice.  Can mommy have a do over? I humble myself to them. Because I too need forgiveness. I too am fallible. I too need that Grace1grace to save me. I can teach them grace by my actions but at the end of the day, hey have the great example grace, Jesus Christ.

Today I just felt prompted to write about grace and how I like many others am grateful that God picks me up and dusts me off and sends me on my way. He simply wants me to know he loves me. I pray I can do that for my children that I can teach them the love of a father that will forever be greater than any love this earth can hold.

 

Leave a Reply

