Kolten turns 3

Three years ago today, I didn’t know my life could be so full, so complete, so chaotic and so perfect. Three years ago, I didn’t know that I could love someone as much as I already loved Logan and that someone could be naughtier than what I was already experiencing. Three years ago, I didn’t know that we would face an autism diagnosis. Three years ago, I didn’t know that speech would come so late and so slow. And three years ago, I didn’t know that nothing would ever be the same. 

IMG_3336From the moment Kolten was born he was unique. From the 90 seconds to actually push him out, to latching at oh about 2 minutes old, I didn’t know that I had found my constant (sometimes to my irritation) companion. I didn’t know that my life would be so full and that by him coming into the world, that my family would instantly feel complete.

What I did know the day he was born…first, that I could actually have a child with very little hair. Ok ok, in all fairness, he had a decent amount, but it was blonde and nothing like Logan’s. Second, that I did actually have enough room to love both him and Logan in my heart. Third, that his easy manner and go with the flow attitude was a blessing. Fourth, that this kid would never have an issue nursing, he was a pro.

IMG_3269What I have learned in the last three years about Kolten. He is so stubborn and motivated.
Together this combination can be lethal to anything in his path (including myself and Logan). That hearing him speak words sends my soul to a whole new level. One I never thought possible. That watching him overcome obstacles and challenges and start to open up and love other people has made me cry on a regular occasion. And finally I have learned, how much those in his life, from family to friends to therapists, are just as overjoyed when he meets a milestone or overcomes anything difficult.

 

IMG_3317So to you Kolten Jack. Happy Birthday my big three year old. I can’t wait to see what adventures unfold in the next three years.

Leave a Reply

